jump to navigation

Blackberry Ripple June 17, 2006

Posted by James Warren in apropos of nothing, mobile.
trackback

As I was growing up, raspberry ripple was my favourite flavour of ice cream (closely followed by mint choc chip, fact fans).  These days however I am exposed on a daily basis to Blackberry ripple.  This is the term I have coined for the peculiar effect achievable in a full train carriage by getting one's Blackberry out.  One by one, all other owners of these mobile email devices then dig into their pockets/bags and get theirs out too.  So, within 30 seconds of one device being unleashed, half the carriage is full of commuters using theirs.  Seriously, try it yourself if you don't believe me.  Works every time.

Is this strange phenomenon anything to do with a new virulent work ethic among UK business people?  Or is it simply a case of classic one-up manship?  "I too am an executive of import and influence because I am able to connect remotely to my email – and the company could not function without my constant input.  Oh and I'm better paid than you because mine has a colour screen."  I'll let you decide.

Comments»

1. Drew B's take on tech PR - June 19, 2006

Hi James. Nice design, and thanks for the comment!

2. renaissance chambara - June 21, 2006

A blackberry is to today what the company car was in the 1970s and 80s.


Leave a Reply

