jump to navigation

Ssssh, don’t tell anyone July 17, 2007

Posted by James Warren in apropos of nothing, travel.
trackback

I lied.  I’m not here all week – I’m in the US.  LA, to be exact.  Arrived late last night and even the cab ride into town from the airport was like driving through a movie set… police helicopters, nodding donkey pumps, Beverly Hills, the Hollywood hills…  Despite being a fairly seasoned traveller, I couldn’t help but feel a real frisson of excitement at being here.  It’s weird – I’ve been to San Francisco more times than I can remember, but there’s something about the sites here… or maybe it’s the light – the sky here is extraordinary, genuinely awesome…  I am hoping to find an hour or so today to do some walking around.

Sorry – I digress.  This post is to share with you a wonderful site a US colleague shared with me.  Apologies to those already in the know, but for the rest of us here it is: Seat Guru.  This amazing web site tells you the best seats to book, by plane type and airline.  So when you check in online (and really, you should) you can choose the finest seats available in your class.  This trip, being a little last minute, left me in cattle class.  But thanks to Seat Guru, I had loads of legroom, was in the second row to get served etc etc.  Absolutely brilliant – check it out next time you’re checking in.  But clearly we don’t want everyone knowing about it – so just keep it to yourself, okay?

Comments»

1. ...The World's Leading... - July 17, 2007

“Check it out next time you’re checking in”

Wonderful. You should be in advertising.

2. jameswarren - July 17, 2007

Thanks TWL. I think.

3. colin byrne - August 15, 2007

I was in LA in the mid 1990s, a few years after the riots. One night I was walking back to my hotel, turned a corner to find a full scale riot in progress, with mounted police cruelly beating folk and lots of bodies lying around bleeding and moaning. One leather clad ‘cop’ was leaning against a post, smoking and watching the mayhem. I nervously went up an explained in my best ‘help I’m an English tourist’ voice that i needed to get to my hotel. He looked over his dark glasses and said ‘relax buddy we’re just shooting a movie’. (Strange Days).


Leave a Reply

